The Victorian Solo motorcycle speedway title will be staged at Mildura’s Olympic Park tomorrow night.
Justin Sedgmen should probably go in as the favourite to win another Victorian crown, especially after his excellent win in the annual Jack Young Cup, held at Gillman, Adelaide last weekend.
Sedgmen was in scintillating form at the prestigious meeting and finished equal top points along with Jordy Stewart, with both riders only dropping one point each during the heats to finish on 14 points.
Sedgmen has now won the Jack Young Cup three times. Young was World Speedway Champion in 1951 and 1952, so the main trophy event at Gillman is named in his honour.
He was fastest rider on the night and clearly won the Cup from Dakota Ballantyne (11), Fraser Bowes (9) Jordan Stewart, who had started well, but struggled with an engine problem to finish in fourth and then Arlo Bujega (8) and the other Mildura rider, Patty Hamilton (6), who had scraped into the six-rider final on count back. All these riders will front the start at the Victorian Title, where the racing should be keen and fast.
Riding for all these lads has been by strictly controlled COVID-safe conditions at practice meetings, since the outbreak in early March, so to get out and stretch their legs both last week and at the State Title will be enjoyed by all.
The speedway will begin with a Victorian Junior 125cc Title, which will run into the senior meeting. A 250cc class for riders Under 16 will also be run concurrently with the main event. The 250cc machines will use the large track even though the riders are still Juniors and are under 16.
Spectators will be allowed to attend, using the COVID-safe arrangements. Mildura Motor Cycle Club has a COVID Plan and a QR Code system in place so patrons are asked to scan the QR code onto their phone upon entry to the Stadium to allow future contact. And, spectators are reminded to maintain ‘safe distancing’ as a precaution and to use the Hand sanitiser provided.
The club-appointed ‘Covid Marshal’ will be in attendance and will supervise all spectators.
Olympic Park gates will open at 5pm with a mandatory practice starting at 6pm. Juniors will start racing at 6.20pm with the parade and national anthem starting at 7pm. The Victorian Senior Title will commence at 7.30pm.
The Stadium has excellent free grandstand accommodation or patrons can bring a chair or blanket and avail themselves of a nice spot on the grassy banks.
The extra meeting has been scheduled at the instigation of the Speedway Management Committee of Victoria, who have a duty to try and conduct the State Championship for Victorian based riders before the end of 2020. The state title is a named meeting, gazetted by the British authorities to enable Australian riders to apply and gain a ‘work visa’ to ride in England in the forthcoming British speedway season. It is vital that riders can qualify for British selection by finishing on the podium of a State title.
In another first for Olympic Park, the three major Solo meetings to be held in January.
They are the GT Onsite Windscreens, ‘Phil Crump Trophy’ on January 2; the Robinson Plumbing, ‘ATPI Mildura Solo Masters’ on January 9; and the Mallee Bearings’ ‘Jason Lyons Trophy’, to be held on January 23, will all be featured on a live stream broadcast around the world for those people who wish to watch the speedway but cannot attend.
The stream will be particularly popular in England, Poland and the Scandanavian countries and will be viewed by people from around Australia who are unable to be at Olympic Park on the night.
The live stream will be a ‘pay per view’ and will be able to be viewed in real time or viewed post-event. Arrangements for live stream viewing, booking and payment will be made public closer to the time of the events or just before the New Year.
Mildura Club Solo co-ordinator, Ryan Sedgmen, has worked hard on putting both the fields for the three prestigious solo meetings as well as working with the Live Stream provider to ensure that the stream which comes out of Olympic Park will be of the highest quality.
Sedgmen said: “I am pleased with the quality of the fields entered for all three big solo meetings featuring two world champions – Jason Crump with World Title in 2004, 2006 and 2009, and Mildura Club member, Jaimon Lidsey, who won his 2020 Under 21 World Championship during the European summer, just a few months ago.”
Riders from all over Australia including Jack Holder, Rohan Tungate amongst others, will be here to race against Crump, Lidsey, Stewart, Sedgmen and Hamilton, Ballantyne and Bowes.